noobpump.blogg.se

Macbook air 2012 ssd upgrade kit
Macbook air 2012 ssd upgrade kit











macbook air 2012 ssd upgrade kit macbook air 2012 ssd upgrade kit

The fans don't kick on nearly so much either. And significantly faster on boot-up and launching of applications. It took the better part of the day, but eventually, my old MacBook Air was once again operational. Adding a little complication, I have so many system disks lying around that finding the MacBook-Air specific one took a few attempts (note to self: label the bloody disks to specify which computer they originally shipped with). The process is quite easy, but very, very slow. With no optical drive and no external optical drive (you can buy one, but I passed on the option), that means installation over WiFi using another host computer. I finally decided on a straightforward re-installation from scratch (probably better anyway), except the MacBook Air's Achilles heel is that installations aren't all that convenient. I suspect the original hard drive was on its last legs and the replacement was even more timely. Unfortunately - despite the fact that I'd verified the health of the internal drive prior to the operation - both the backup image and the now backup drive refused to restore to the SSD. Of course I had cloned the internal drive before taking everything apart, and the OWC kit also included a handy external USB enclosure to slip the old drive into, so it should have been easy. Taking apart the MacBook Air was a little more challenging than other models (Apple really does pack things tightly in there), but the real challenge was re-installing the OS. The operating system, applications and local copies of works in progress took up only 10Gb or so. While 30GB doesn't sound like much storage space, I use that particular machine only for writing and it's always been optimized to reduce the load on CPU, HD and battery. My wife (with a little hint) ordered a 30GB ZIF SSD kit for about $100 as a Christmas gift. I didn't have to look much further than OWC, the company that supplied the SSD I reviewed earlier. Besides, I've always wanted an excuse to open it up and see what makes it tick. It's a pain tracking down a suitable replacement, but given the fact that the current generation of this model of notebook starts at around $1300, I figured it was worth looking around. This is a first generation model, pretty pokey and with a small capacity hard drive that uses a hard to find ZIF connector. Following the success I had with upgrading my MacBook Pro's hard drive with a SSD (solid state drive), I decided to to try the same thing with my MacBook Air.













Macbook air 2012 ssd upgrade kit